School Election Results Canvassed
September 17, 2013


The final results of last Tuesday's school board elections were made final with a canvas of the results by the Palo Alto County Board of Supervisors in a special session Friday morning.

In the Emmetsburg Community School District, the election of Rick Bird and the re-election of Tamara L. Naig and Kim Campbell were confirmed by the board members. Bird received 286 votes, Naig 290 votes and Campbell 277 votes, including absentee ballots. Candidates Linda Mathis Tienter received 230 votes and Jesse Wolfe received 152 votes, while Terry Manwarren collected 28 votes.

The Public Measure Question for the Emmetsburg Community School District, a Purpose Statement, was also affirmed with 259 yes votes and 51 no votes being certified in the canvas.

A total of two write-in votes were cast in the Emmetsburg School District, with Scott Wirtz receiving two votes.

For the Graettinger-Terril Community School district, Mathew Hanson received 39 votes to retain his seat and Kyle Norris collected 37 votes to win re-election to his seat on the board as well.

There were six write in votes cast in the Graettinger-Terril district, with Orville Lewis and Stacy Ebel both receiving two votes each, while Bill Brown and Dan Hoffman both received one vote each.

For the Ruthven-Ayrshire Community School District, one of the three seats up for election was filled through a write-in vote. Incumbent board member Susan M. Sikora won re-election with 73 votes, while the other announced candidate, Darin Malm, received 84 votes in the election. To fill the third seat on the RA Board, Bruce Long received a total of 50 write ins, the highest total of votes. Outgoing board president Barry Fischer received 28 write in votes and fellow retiring board member Tammy Chapman received one write in vote. Current board member Larry Conlon also received one write in vote.

Other write in vote totals in the RA?District saw Milt Peters receive eight votes, Matt Graves receive five votes; Dan Schnetzer earning three votes and Pat Geelan receiving two write-in votes.

Individuals in the RA district that received one write in vote were Ryan Baack, James Schoning, Casey Pomeroy, Carol Forey, Dave Forey and Matt Geelan. Ruthven-Ayrshire's two public measure questions were also reaffirmed through the canvas. The Instructional Support Levy was approved with 72 yes votes and 24 no votes, while the Physical Plant and Equipment Levy question was also approved with 70 yes votes and 25 no votes.

In the West Bend-Mallard Community School District, incumbent Wendell Schmidt received 150 votes to earn another term on the board, while newcomers David Bruellman received 111 votes and Mike Thatcher earned 162 votes to fill the other two vacancies on the WBM?Board.

Candidate Philip Dahl-hauser received 87 votes in his bid for election to the board.

For voters casting ballots for the Iowa Lakes Community College Board of Trustees Director District Six, Patrick Kibbie of Emmetsburg was re-elected to his seat on the college board of trustees with 475 votes.

A total of four write-in votes were cast in the county for the college Board of trustees. Those votes were cast for Bonnie Wuebker of West Bend-Mallard with one vote and a candidate named Sam also received one write in vote in the West Bend-Mallard district. Ron Sikora of Ruthven received a write in vote from the Ruthven-Ayrshire District, and Terry Manwarren of Emmetsburg received one write in vote from the Emmetsburg polls.

On a motion by Supervisor Jerry Hofstad that was seconded by Supervisor Keith Wirtz, the official canvas of the School Board Elections was approved on a 4-0 vote of the board, with Supervisor Linus Solberg absent and not voting.


Regular Size Emmetsburg News